More About HKUST

Top bannar image

School of Science (SSCI)

The School of Science comprises five academic units: Life Science, Chemistry, Mathematics, Ocean Science and Physics. Aside from traditional degree programs in core disciplines, the School offers innovative degree programs unique to the region, and gives students with particular interest the opportunity to pursue careers in research through the International Research Enrichment (IRE) program. All IRE students are guaranteed international exchange and undergraduate research opportunities. Students of the School of Science may transfer from a regular science program into IRE after their first year of study.


  • No. 23 in Materials Science
    (QS World University Rankings 2018 by Subject)
  • No. 23 in Chemistry
    (QS World University Rankings 2018 by Subject)
  • No. 41 in Mathematics
    (QS World University Rankings 2018 by Subject)

Major programs

Students admitted into the HKUST School of Science (SSCI), upon completion of their first year of study, can either enroll in one of the following Bachelor of Science (BSc) degree programs, or seek admission to one of the interdisciplinary programs offered by Interdisciplinary Programs Office page. For international students who wish to study in HK, please head to International Qualifications Applicants page.

Apart from offering school-based admission, students can also choose to directly apply to programs, jointly offered by the Schools of Science and the School of Business and Management which are Biotechnology and Business (BIBU), Mathematics and Economics (MAEC).

  • BSc in Biochemistry and Cell Biology
  • BSc in Biological Science
  • BSc in Biotechnology
  • BSc in Biotechnology and Business
  • BSc in Chemistry
  • BSc in Data Science and Technology
  • BSc in Mathematics
  • BSc in Mathematics and Economics
  • BSc in Ocean Science and Technology
  • BSc in Physics

Please visit the HKUST website of the School of Science (SSCI) for details on program curriculums.


Follow us on